The cutting edge of Christian affairs

A Crown of Life

9708112-gold-crown-isolated-on-white-stock-photo-royal.jpg

By Joseph Diop

Copyright © 2016 by Joseph Diop

“But He said unto me, ‘My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.'”  2Corinthians 12:9

We each have been given a baseline allotment of GOD’s strength. Otherwise, we’d all be stillborn creatures, too weak to even draw our first breath. We would have no capability to live or exist at all, had not God granted us this.

We all may find ourselves being prone or captive to certain weakesses in our bodies and souls. As the word says, “Not willingly, but by reason of Him who subjected the same in hope” (Rom 8:20). And we, of necessity, must live with those weaknesses as we go along, though we may dread them, even hate them on a daily basis.

But, through these God is working out a virtue more precious than gold, a truly submitted spirit and humble state of mind. And, that frame of mind is absolutely necessary for our perfection in Christ. It is only when we are faced with overwhelming “infirmities, reproaches, necessities, and distresses for Christ’s sake” (2Cor 12:10), that we are fully aware of the fact that we cannot possibly make it through, without God’s own gracious and powerful intervention. And, it is precisely this awareness, which forms the basis of successful and victorious living in Christ.

Sometimes, God denies us the experience of certain strength, because He knows that would contribute to our susceptibility to pride, vanity, and delusion. God perfects us by progressively working in us an attitude of humility, lowliness, penitance, and contrition — virtues which our prideful generation hardly appreciates. But, this is precisely what we need, if we are going to mature into powerful servants. For, the very first and valued spiritual asset Jesus gave in the Beatitudes is,  “Blessed are the POOR IN SPIRIT: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven” (Matt 5:3).

So, even with regards to the experience of our most dreaded weaknesses, we have no choice but to learn to pray, “Father… not my will, but thine be done” (Luke 22:42). And perhaps, being true to the love connection between God and you, when you die God will give you a crown of life; not a rim on our head of metal, but a complete and solid covering of God’s glory on our being. And then, never again will we experience the weakness of the disconnect between our soul and God’s Spirit. We will have inherited the life and joy of an unbroken flow between God’s will, our will, and the power to accomplish great and mighty things. For God said, “Be thou faithful unto death, and I will give you a crown of life” (Rev 2:10).

Is there any other outlook more worthy or gratifying than this?? This is part of the abundant life, which Jesus said he came to bring to us. Isn’t that much more than the very best we could have hoped to achieve on our own?  Then, if you are ready to sign on and find that kind of life and possibility, then please pray the following suggested prayer.

Lord Jesus, I need you. Thank you for dying on the cross for my sins. I open my heart and life now and receive you as Savior and Lord. Come in and take control of my life. Give me your Holy Spirit. Come and make me the kind of person you want me to be. Amen.

Did you pray that prayer? Then, on the solid-rock foundation of simple child-like faith, I now pronounce you a born-again believer in Jesus Christ. Mark this date on your calendar. It’s the first day of your eternal life. Congratulations! And welcome to the family.

For 24-hour prayer and for help finding a church, call 1-888-731-1000

If you are already a Christian, but are in need of repentance and rededication, then pray this prayer,

Lord Jesus, please forgive me for not serving you the way that I should. I open up my heart now, and give you full access and control. Have your way, Lord. Cleanse me from all my sin and idolatry. Fill me with your Holy Spirit again. Renew me, Lord. Make me the kind of person and servant I ought to be. Amen.

For 24-hour prayer and for help finding a church, call 1-888-731-1000

For more inspirationals go to: http://www.facebook@newjudah2.com

Leave a Reply

