The cutting edge of Christian affairs

By Joseph Diop

Copyright © 2016 by Joseph Diop

What do you say, when all you really want to pray is, “Lord, please let me die. Just please let me wake up in the morning in heaven, and be free from the dreadfulness of this life.” 

“I am beset with weariness. I feel like my heart is going to drop through my belly. I am weary in my body, and weary in my soul. I am aged and infirm, and battered in my mind. Troubles, distresses, griefs, and disappointments confront me all around. And, i find, like Solomon affirmed, that my life is only ‘vanity of vanities; all is vanity'” (Eccl 1:3). 

I am, in effect, like David said, “a broken vessel” (Psalm 31:13) — a broken-hearted vessel, that is.

[But, like when Jesus asked Peter three (3) times (John 21:15-17), “Do you love Me — really, really love Me???”  Here, I find that even my own strength to claim my own love for the Lord has been expended. And, I sit before Him, only mute, silenced, and resigned at the question.]

Yet, and still, i have no choice — no sane, rational, reasonable, sensable choice, that is — but to say yet again, “Father, not my will, but thine be done” (Luke 22:42). I find that my greatest sacrifice now, is not to die for the Lord, but to regretfully keep on living for Him. By saying this, I wholly submit myself to God. I surrender my will, and accept God’s lordship over my life and existence once again. Truly, I am not my own. This brings me to my humble place, the place of a mere creature and servant of God.

For, i am but a servant. i am but a rank slave of His, actually. And, there is no where else I can go, and nothing else I can do, if I want to stay saved, but to do my Master’s will. This is yet the harsh, cold, fundamental, covenant reality of eternal life, when no other motivation will do. This is the gift of the spirit of the “Fear of the Lord” (Prov 15:27; 19:23; Isaiah 11:2). Amen.

Jesus asked his disciples, “Will you also go away?” Peter answered, “Lord where else would we go? You [alone] have the words of eternal life” (John 6:67-68). As a friend of mine long ago used to say, “It’s hard, but it’s fair.”  

So, i must apply every component of my being, with every ounce of strength I can muster to move on ahead. I must yet press on (Phil 3:14).

As the captain of the ship said, “All ahead full !!”

Is that a speech of grace??  Yes, oh yes!!! Any words which result in life eternal, are words of grace. They are indeed, a gift from God. Selah. Amen.

Aren’t you sick and tired of being sick and tired? Wouldn’t you like to know “The Strength” that is always beyond your own little strength? Jesus said, “Come unto me, all ye that labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30). Christ’s yoke is his love for us, and his burden is his love for others. You see, you don’t have to be your own savior, or supply your own strength and motivation anymore.  If you are ready to get connected to “The Source” that is there, even when you have exhausted all of yours, then please pray the following suggested prayer.

Lord Jesus, I need you. Thank you for dying on the cross for my sins. I open my heart and life now and receive you as Savior and Lord. Come in and take control of my life. Give me your Holy Spirit. Come and make me the kind of person you want me to be. Amen.

Did you pray that prayer? Then, on the solid-rock foundation of simple child-like faith, I now pronounce you a born-again believer in Jesus Christ. Mark this date on your calendar. It’s the first day of your eternal life. Congratulations! And welcome to the family.

For 24-hour prayer and for help finding a church, call 1-888-731-1000

If you are already a Christian, but are in need of repentance and rededication, then pray this prayer,

Lord Jesus, please forgive me for not serving you the way that I should. I open up my heart now, and give you full access and control. Have your way, Lord. Cleanse me from all my sin and idolatry. Fill me with your Holy Spirit again. Renew me, Lord. Make me the kind of person and servant I ought to be. Amen.

For 24-hour prayer and for help finding a church, call 1-888-731-1000

For more inspirationals go to: http://www.facebook@newjudah2.com

Leave a Reply

