The cutting edge of Christian affairs

Can I Get a Witness???

image-php_-300x117

By Joseph Diop

Copyright © 2017 by Joseph Diop

 

Did you know?? Do you realize?? Has it dawned on you yet?? Sin begins where the will of God ends, and “My will” takes over. So, let’s just cut to the chase.

Yeah, I’m fightin’ mad in the Spirit. I want to turn up the heat! Let the cream come to the top, the gold purge ‘cause it’s hot, and the chips fall where they may. On the eve of his passion, Jesus prayed blood-letting prayers in great desperation, in hopes of avoiding the cross. With a pure, honest, and faithful heart, three (3) times he straightforwardly asked his Father God to work out another means for our salvation, saying with all earnestness,

“Abba Father, [Daddy], all things are possible unto thee; take away this cup from me” (Mark 14:36, brackets mine).

He knew what was about to happen to him, right down to the last drop of blood that was about to be spilled from his veins — along with the excruciating pain and agony that he would experience. That’s very comforting to know. My Master and mentor asked for a way out too. So, we are not just sniveling cowards for wanting to avoid suffering and pain. Can I get an honest witness here?? The only thing that we like less than serving holy God in the first place, is suffering for Him. And, that’s the truth!!!

But, I have learned to begin my prayers every single day I wake, where Jesus ended his. The Bible tells us that in those three prayer sessions asking for a way out, Jesus concluded each time with these words,

“NEVERTHELESS Father, NOT my will, but thine be done”  (Luke 22:42).

With these words, I make my daily supplication for God to grant me the grace to receive the will and power to do His will, even if it kills me. Added to that is a prayer that my dear wife taught me:  “Have your way, Father.”  With these two prayers, the deal of the day is done before it is begun. Some days it is easier than others for me to pray my way through these two prayers. But, if these issues are not decided before my feet hit the floor, then you can write my end from the beginning, and say in truth, “Joseph got up on the wrong side of the bed this morning.”

Is this what Apostle Paul meant when he said, “I protest by your rejoicing which I have in Christ Jesus our Lord, I DIE DAILY”  (1Cor 15:31). Well, one thing is for sure, Jesus made it plain from the beginning when he said, “If anyone will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up HIS CROSS DAILY” (Luke 9:23). Clearly then, what Jesus laid out for us was not a one-time act, but a daily decision to take up our cross in his name. It is a path that I have come to call “LIFESTYLE  REPENTANCE.”

What Jesus wants from us is “an honest and good heart” (Luke 8:15). He is looking for those who are willing on a day to day basis to “fight the good fight” (1Tim 6:12; 2Tim 4:7) — to renounce all supposed right to rule our own life, and to face and endure whatever suffering, shame, pain, and tribulation may come as a consequence of our loyalty to God. This is not a road for those who are comfortable sitting on the fence, being satisfied with their ‘STUFF,’ and watching the war go by; whose favorite cliches are “Don’t rock the boat,” and, “It don’t take all that.”  But, it is for the humble, the hungry, and spiritually stout-hearted, who with an “irrepressibility spirit” declare in all faith and confidence,

“Okay Devil, ‘Take your best shot !!’ Whatever, whatever. My mind is made up. There will be nothing left for me to do, but pick up the pieces and keep right on moving on forward — not looking back — serving and praising God.”

So then, if that’s you, “Can I get a witness???”

Are you prepared to be in that number of whom it is said that, “They loved not their lives unto the death” (Rev 12:11). It’s time to go big or go home, to fish or cut bait, maybe for you it’s time to cut and run. But, it’s time to really surrender all to the Lord, to make repentance an entire lifestyle. Big trouble is coming to America. You’d be a fool not to see it. The handwriting is on the wall — in big, bold, colossal letters, at that.  There’s no salvation coming from the government, no matter who is in the White House.  Jesus is the ONLY hope.  And, nobody is getting a free pass. Yes, Jesus is Lord to the glory of God.. And, to Him alone, you’re either going to bow, or you’re going to burn.  It’s time to choose to live and die for Jesus, or to live and die the death of a fool.  If you are ready to make that change, then I have just the words you need. Please pray the following suggested prayer.

Lord Jesus, I need you. Thank you for dying on the cross for my sins. I open my heart and life now and receive you as Savior and Lord. Come in and take control of my life. Give me your Holy Spirit. Come and make me the kind of person you want me to be. Amen.

Did you pray that prayer? Then, on the solid-rock foundation of simple child-like faith, I now pronounce you a born-again believer in Jesus Christ. Mark this date on your calendar. It’s the first day of your eternal life. Congratulations! And welcome to the family.

For 24-hour prayer and for help finding a church, call 1-888-731-1000

If you are already a Christian, but are in need of repentance and rededication, then pray this prayer,

Lord Jesus, please forgive me for not serving you the way that I should. I open up my heart now, and give you full access and control. Have your way, Lord. Cleanse me from all my sin and idolatry. Fill me with your Holy Spirit again. Renew me, Lord. Make me the kind of person and servant I ought to be. Amen.

For 24-hour prayer and for help finding a church, call 1-888-731-1000

For more inspiration, go to:  www.facebook.com/newjudah2  .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

