The cutting edge of Christian affairs

img_20170306_035648_426

By Joseph Diop

Copyright © 2017 by Joseph Diop

 

“And they were astonished at his doctrine: for his word was with POWER” (Luke 4:32), scripture says of Jesus. This is every Christian’s legacy. And, this is every Christian’s future – POWER – to heal the sick, to cast out devils, to raise the dead, and to perform all manner of miracles, signs, wonders, mighty deeds, and even to perform all manner of marvelous, strange, unusual, and unprecedented acts of glory, in the name of the Lord.

 

This is why the earth keeps spinning and the world still stands, to get us there in time. Saints of God, Glory, Hallelujah!! This is where God our Father is taking us. We have a personal appointment with the administration of His power, to manifest His Name and His glory in the earth – GUARANTEED!!!  We cannot possibly miss it, because God our Father has willed it, predestined it, foretold it in his holy word, and therefore He will also perform it. Bless his name! Meanwhile, so that you will not fear, nor be discouraged or doubtful about that fact, let me explain a little about how God will go about it in YOUR life. For, He does have a plan, a pattern, and a precedent that He follows. Here it is.

 

4:1  And Jesus being full of the Holy Ghost returned from Jordan, and was led by the Spirit into the wilderness, Being forty days tempted of the devil…. And Jesus answered and said unto him, Get thee behind me, Satan: for it is written, Thou shalt worship the Lord thy God, and him only shalt thou serve.

13 And when the devil had ended all the temptation, he departed from him for a season. 14 And Jesus returned in the POWER of the Spirit into Galilee: and there went out a fame of him through all the region round about… 32 And they were astonished at his doctrine: for his word was with POWER. 33 And in the synagogue there was a man, which had a spirit of an unclean devil, and cried out with a loud voice, 34 Saying, ‘Let us alone; what have we to do with thee, thou Jesus of Nazareth? art thou come to destroy us? I know thee who thou art; the Holy One of God.’  35 And Jesus rebuked him, saying, ‘Hold thy peace, and come out of him.’  And when the devil had thrown him in the midst, he came out of him, and hurt him not.  36 And they were all amazed, and spake among themselves, saying, ‘What a word is this! for with AUTHORITY and POWER he commandeth the unclean spirits, and they come out.’”  Luke 4:1-36

 

This then, is God’s pattern for the demonstration of power. This is how He prepares this gift in the world, beloved:

 

  1. Be filled with the Spirit
  2. Overcome all the Devil’s tests
  3. Return with Power
  4. Exercise authority and power in the world in Jesus’ name

 

That is God’s pattern. But, where do you fit in? And, how can you get connected? Good question! Let me first ask you a question. Have you met requirement #1?  Are you presently filled with the Spirit today?? Let’s take it one step at a time. Here, I will share with you my personal testimony of how I personally got filled with the Holy Spirit. It will work for you too. And, if you have not otherwise, you can get on board this POWER train right here. Here’s my story.

 

I was just a teenager, 13 years of age. I had already joined the church, being baptized when I was eight (8) years old. I had a heart to know and to serve God, already. I went to Catholic high school. The Bible was taught there as a required part of the curriculum. One day, I was simply doing my homework, reading the Bible in Luke, when I came across this passage, where Jesus was speaking.

 

“So I say to you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. 10 For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened. 11 If a son asks for bread from any father among you, will he give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent instead of a fish? 12 Or if he asks for an egg, will he offer him a scorpion?13 If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him!”  Luke 11:9-13 NKJV

 

There it was, in the last verse – the mention of the Father giving His Holy Spirit. I did not know it at the time, but this was my divine appointment to personally get filled. God picked up from here, and set the ball in motion. So, I started thinking.

 

“The Holy Spirit. Yes. This is what I need. All the Biblical heroes of old had the Holy Spirit – David, Solomon, Abraham, Moses, Joseph, and the Lord Jesus himself. All these servants of God were very wise, and filled with understanding. That’s what I want to be like – like Jesus, always able to speak an anointed word to heal and comfort people’s hearts.”

 

Then, I just paused and prayed a very simple, childlike prayer, “O God, please let me have your Holy Spirit, so that I can be  like Jesus and all your servants — wise, strong, and able to help and comfort others.”  After the prayer, I looked up. I did not feel anything. I did not know what to expect. So, I wondered. So, God himself then took over and directed me. God said, “Read the verse again.” So, I read the last verse, verse 13, again. “If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children: how much more shall your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask him.” Then, his Holy Spirit said to me, “Did you ask Him?” Then I said, “Yes, I asked Him.” Then, the Holy Spirit asked me, “Can God lie?” I said, “Oh, no!! He CANNOT lie. That’s the only thing he can’t do.  It is impossible for GOD to lie!!” The Holy Spirit then said, “Well, if he promised to give the Holy Spirit if you asked, and you did ask, then what does that mean?” The light went on in me. Then, I said, “That means that He gave it to me!!! Well, what do you know!?! I HAVE the Holy Spirit!!!”

 

There you have it. With the faith of a child, I then simply BELIEVED that I had the Holy Spirit. So, I did receive. And, even though I did not feel any different right then, a couple of weeks later, I did start to feel a lot different. First of all, I started feeling the gravity of holiness. I had a vision in my mind of the whole world moving in a direction away from God. So, then I knew what the world was. It was everybody and everything moving away from God. Also, I instinctively knew what “holiness” was. I felt it in my bones. Holiness introduced itself to me as the summary attribute of the God who was now present, living within me. It was the very signature of God. It was the reason the world was constantly moving away from God. They did not want any part of his holiness. So, this is when I received my “burden” – my life’s mission assignment from the Lord. From that moment forward, I started sharing God’s word with whomever I could. I started witnessing to people about Jesus Christ, because I wanted to turn as many people as I could back to God, so that they could be saved out of the world.

 

So beloved, my counsel to you with regards to the power of God, is to first make sure that you have the Holy Spirit in your life. Based on God’s promise in Luke 11:9-13 to give to all who ask, simply then pray with the faith of a child and ask God for His Holy Spirit. Then, don’t doubt God’s faithfulness to give the Holy Spirit to you. He said He will, and so then He is obligated to His own word. You just do your part and ask. God will surely do his part and give. Guaranteed!!! I am a living witness. As a child, like a child, being but a child, I asked, believed, and received.

 

This is your first step in receiving the power – being filled with the Holy Spirit. Ask, and receive!!  Then forever afterwards, be confident that the Holy Spirit is in you. This confidence is vitally important, because it says that you put more stock in God’s word than in anything else in the world – including your own feelings. This kind of faith, God always honors. The other steps along the path, I will discuss in later lessons. But, get filled with the Holy Spirit first, and then you’re on the ground floor of the God business – the glory, miracle, signs, and wonders business. The grace and peace of our Lord Jesus be with your spirit, for his own holy name’s sake.  Amen.

 

Comments on: "But, What About the Power???" (2)

  1. MUHANGUZI BOAZ ABRAHAM said:

    Amen.

    Thank you the Holy Spirit for your annointing word of God you spoke through your man pastor Joseph Emmanuel Diop to us, bless him abanduntly like Abraham and let his ministry spread world wide so that your word can be known by every body in H

  2. MUHANGUZI BOAZ ABRAHAM said:

    Praise God pastor

    Thank you this wonderful word of God full of annointing.

    I shared this word of God with my beloved wife Penlope and the Lord God told us to ask him God to fill us with his HolySpirit and him God will then fill us with the HolySpirit.

    And that we should pray with faith of a child and ask God for His Holy Spirit.

    And we should not doubt God’s faithfulness to give the HolySpirit to us. We should be confident that the HolySpirit is in us.

Leave a Reply

