The cutting edge of Christian affairs

1487945341247

By Joseph Diop

Copyright © 2011 by Joseph Diop

 

I had just been jotting down some ideas that were flowing out of my heart in the presence of the Holy Spirit one evening. I was sort of conversing in my heart with the Spirit about the preeminence and the pricelessness of unlimited love between the heart of God and the heart of His worshipper. I got all the way down to the end of the second paragraph, before I realized that what I was writing was actually a song.

 

All my Spirit-filled life, I have regularly been challenged by a spiritually lackadaisical world on the point of finding something called “balance,” where my love and devotion to God are concerned. But thank God, by his grace, my heart could never be moved from its path. No matter how seemingly ‘prudent’ the objection to my spiritual obsession, I knew that all I was really trying to do in life is to give God nothing more or less than what He had asked for, which was that I  Love the Lord my God with ALL my heart, with ALL my soul, with ALL my mind, and with ALL my strength  (Mark 12:30). And in my simple mind, you don’t need a cup, a scale, or any other kind of device to measure out “ALL.”  All is all. And, if all means all, then how much do you WANT to hold back? All you need to do to render “all” is just turn the vessel upside down and pour out every last bit of it to the very last drop. Simple, right!? And hey, this is God’s recipe for what he considers acceptable love—not mine.

 

But anyway, as the years rolled by and life experiences and relationships marched onward, that same old chorus of complaints kept being leveled at me, like a broken record. And in my own narrow focus on my own life and duty to God, it was many years before I could really decipher just what was really behind all that scorn. The Lord eventually set my soul at ease by enabling me to recognize that it was just the world’s way of reacting against and resisting the conviction that the zeal of my spirit was imposing upon them. But even to this day, I am so sick and tired of hearing those same old tired mantras from the zombie army of lukewarm ‘Christians.’

 

Don’t rock your own boat.

Let God ‘bless’ you. You deserve it.

Don’t be so heavenly-minded that you’re no earthly good.

You need to be “balanced out.”

(And, my all-time favorite):  It don’t take ALL that.

 

I got Spirit-filled when I was fourteen years old, so I have had to listen to all these same old sad songs from “the church in the wilderness” (Acts 7:38) now for forty years. And while the Spirit of holy zeal itself has its own good code of divine discretion, it is never given over to mere creeds of self-preservation, like the carnal-minded are. That crowd is always looking for some way of dousing the flames of the single-minded saints with reproaches that try to appeal to the spirit of wisdom, but are in fact nothing more than smoke screens for their own spiritual compromise, cowardice, carnality, and complacency.

 

(And over the years, my life has borne the markings of God’s fiery flames of purification. Season in and season out, an awesome, fearful display of smoke has billowed up from my life as my God has consumed me – spirit, soul, and body. At times, my life has seemed to be nothing more than “a proverb and a by-word” to every Tom, Dick, and Harry passing by. “Where no oxen are, the crib is clean [i.e., not messy]: but much increase comes by the strength of the ox” (Proverbs 14:4, brackets mine). But, I have deeply and intimately known the Lord, as He has known me, and has wrought in me His good plan and purpose – ever making, shaping, and molding me into the image and likeness of His Son, Jesus Christ. And, time alone (in the will and purpose of God) will tell the story and confirm to the world if I be a charlatan, a fool, or indeed a saint. But, in the meantime and between time, I will worship the Lord, and render all praise to Him with my heart and with my mouth.)

 

Anyway, since God calls for every bit of our love and being to be His, if we try to “measure that out” and “balance that out” with other things and interests of this world, God ain’t going to like that. But, when God finds a heart whose love for him is uncontested, unmitigated, unquenchable, and unparalleled, then He will mortgage all heaven and earth, and give that individual the world itself to possess or to dispose of at their own holy whim. Does the scripture not say?: “For the eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth that he may show himself strong on behalf of them whose heart is perfect towards Him”  (2Chronicles 16:9).  Anyway, that is the opinion of one “fool for Christ.”

 

If God be willing, on tomorrow I will share with you my song – in lyrics only. I call it, the Song of Satisfaction. And all those of you on this “strait and narrow” path of love, faith, and service to God will recognize the heart, soul, and spirit of the song. So until then, the grace and peace of our Lord Jesus be with you.

 

Leave a Reply

